Clare Bird Sightings

July 2006

Sunday 30th July 2006
The Long-billed Dowitcher was still at the Shannon Airport Lagoon today
(John N Murphy, Austin Cooney & Brian Arthurs).  There was also a  large
flock of 600  Black-tailed Goswits and two Water Rails. 

Saturday 29th July 2006
A seawatch at the Bridges of Ros today in strong South Westerly winds was
dissappointing as it only produced one Cory’s Shearwater, one Arctic Skua
and a second year Long-tailed Skua.
On Loop Head there were 22 Chough and four Raven.

Friday 28th July 2006
There was a summer plumaged Long-billed Dowitcher at the Shannon
Airport lagoon this afternoon (Arne Holgensson, Stefan Magnusson
& John N Murphy).
Also at the Lagoon were one summer plumaged Curlew Sandpiper,
five Water Rails, one Grasshopper Warbler and a good mix of other waders.
At the Bridges of Ross there was five Cory’s Shearwaters, one Balearic,
11 Sooties, one Storm Petrel, three Great Skuas four Pomarine Skuas,
four Arctic and 14 unidentified Skuas probably all Arctic’s.
There were two Water Rails at Ballycar Lake.

Thursday 27th July 2006
There were two Stock Doves at ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Wednesday 26th July 2006.
There was a male Blackcaps singing at Ailwee Caves.

Sunday 23rd July 2006
There was one Arctic Skua at the Shannon Airport Lagoon.
Two female Hen Harriers and 46 Curlew were seen at Islandavanna, near Clarecastle.

Saturday 22nd July 2006
There was one Jay on the Lees Wood Road this morning

Friday 21st July 2006
There were eight Chough, six Raven and three Peregrines at the Cliffs of
Moher.  All the Puffins seemed to have departed the clifss and gone out to sea.

Thursday 20th July 2006
There was one Peregrine at Boolynagleeragh Bog in Lissycasey today.

Wednesday 19th July 2006
A flock of 40 Curlew were at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Sunday 16th July 2006
Two Stock Doves and two water Rails were at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Saturday 15th July 2006
There were two Blackcaps, four Siskin, four Whitethroats and two Raven at
Kilnacreagh Wood, east of Sixmilebridge.
One Raven was at Boolynagleeragh Bog, Lissycasey.

Friday 14th July 2006
One Stock Dove at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Tuesday 11th July 2006
Male Blackcap still at Ballycar.

Monday 10th July 2006
One male Blackcap was still at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Sunday 9th July 2006
There was one Little Tern at Quilty.
One Blackcap and two Water Rails were at Ballycar Lake,
Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Saturday 8th July 2006
There was one Blackcap at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Friday 7th July 2006
A two hour seawatch this evening at the Bridges of Ross

produced 3,000 Manx Shearwaters and three Sooty Shearwaters.
Male Blackcap still at Ballycar.

Thursday 6th July 2006
Two Common Sandpipers were at Ballyallia Lake, Ennis.
The male Blackcap was singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Wednesday 5th July 2006
A Blackcap was still at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus. 

Tuesday 4th July 2006
The Spotted Redshank was still at the Shannon Airport Lagoon.
Three Jays were at the Lees Wood Road in Ennis.
One male Blackcap was singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Monday 3rd July 2006
There was one adult summer Spotted Redshank in his black plumage
showing well at the Shannon Airport Lagoon along with 14 Teal and
30 Redshank. There were also four Water Rail and three Black-tailed
Skimmer Dragonflies.

Sunday 2nd July 2006
One Blackcap was at the Lees Road Wood in Ennis.

The male Blackcap was still singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.
One Water Rail was alos callin at Ballycar Lake.

Saturday  1st July 2006
There was one Blackcap singing at Ballycar, Newmarket on Fergus, along
with a juvenile Long-eared Owl and one Water Rail. 
One Jay and one Blackcap were on the Lees Wod Road in Ennis.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Upcoming Events

  1. Saturday 26th August-Seawatching at Bridges of Ross

    August 26 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Latest Tweets

clarebirdwatch

Image Gallery

beanglmuchjm beangooselmuchjm americangoldenplovermoyastajm calacu_adult_260811_shannon

Latest Comments

Follow us on Twitter

  • No tweets were found.