Clare Bird Sightings

June 2007

Friday 30th June 2007
The Opsrey was still at Lahinch.

Thursday 29th June 2007
A juvenile Green Sandpiper was at Doonbeg.
Eight Storm Petrels were at Green Island, Miltown Malbay.
Two Storm Petrels were at Seafield, Quilty.
Three Red-throated Divers were off Liscannor.
Two Tree Sparrows had a second brood at the old church in Liscannor.
One Peregrine was at Lahinch.
One male Blackcap was singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.
rare/osprebh.jpg
Tree Sparrow at Liscannor © Barry Howell.

Wednesday 28th June 2007
An Osprey was seen at Lough Acrow near Lisseycasey this morning (Barry O’Donoghue)(12.40).
The Osprey was also at Lahinch Marsh at 12 noon (Dave McNamara).
Not sure if the bird at Lough Acrow is the same individual as that at Lahinch.
One male Hen Harrier was near Lisseycasey.
Three Common Sandpipers were at Lough Acrow.
A small flock of 10 Storm Petrels were off Hags Head.
One male Blackcap was singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Tuesday 26th June 2007
One Blackcap was singing behind the Town Hall in Shannon this morning.

Monday 25th June 2007
Two Long-eared Owls were at Tubber.

Sunday 24th June 2007
The Osprey returned to Lahinch Marsh this afternoon (Dave McNamara),
alongside seven Kestrels.
One Great Northern Diver, 170 Sandwich Terns, one Raven and one
Peregrine were at Liscannor. 
One Jay was at Mooghaun Wood.

Saturday 23rd June 2007
One Long-eared Owl was at Tubber.

Friday 22nd June 2007
One Jay and one Blackcap were at Mooghaun Wood.

Thursday 21st June 2007
Two male Goldeneye, four Common Scoter and a flock of
70 Sandwich Terns were at Liscannor.
A flock of 120 Curlew were at Lahinch Marsh.
Twenty Srtorm Petrels were near Green Island, Miltown Malbay.
One Jay was at the Lees Wood Road.
 
Wednesday 20th June 2007
There were 100 Storms Petrels off Hags Head with another 20 and two
Great Northern Divers at Seafield and Lurga Point.  Twenty more Storm
Petrels were at Green Island.
One Storm Petrel and 200 Manx Shearwaters were off Liscannor Pier.
One Great Northern Diver was at Kilkee.
Two male Blackcaps were at Ballyallia Lake with another male near
Drumcliff graveyard.

Tuesday 19th June 2007
One male Blackcap was singing at Fenloe Lake, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Monday 18th June 2007
One Jay and one Blackcap were again seen at Mooghaun.

Sunday 17th June 2007
One Jay and one Blackcap were at Mooghaun, Newmarket-on-Fergus.
One Jay was seen near Giorroga on the Gort Road in Ennis this morning.

Saturday 16th June 2007
The Osprey was once again at Lahinch Marsh (Austin Cooney).
One Kingfisher was seen at the Abbey Street car park in Ennis.

Osprey at Lahinch videograb © John N Murphy

Friday 15th June 2007
The Osprey was still at Lahinch (Finbarr MacGabhann & Dave McNamara.)
There were eight Tree Sparrows at the small church near Liscannor.
A flock of 32 Sandwich Terns were on the beach at Liscannor along with
seven Knot and 11 Sanderling.
A large flock of about 300 hirundines were seen hawking over the Fergus
river near Doora on the Quin Road in Ennis with them there were about
80 Swift. 

Thursday 14th June 2007
A Blackcap was heard singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus. 

Wednesday 13th June 2007
There was one male Blackcap at Ballyallia and another
near Cranny.

Tuesday 12th June 2007
The Osprey was showing well this evening at Lahinch
Marsh (John N Murphy & Dave McNamara).
One Blackcap was heard calling at Boolynagleeragh Bog in Lisseycasey.

Monday 11th June 2007
The Osprey was still at Lahinch Marsh (Dave McNamara).
One Blackcap was at Ballyallia Lake.
Twenty Whimbrel were at Quilty.
One Great Northern Diver was at Kilkee today.

Sunday 10th June 2007
The Osprey was still at Lahinch Marsh this morning (Tom Lynch).
A Barn Owl was seen in Sixmilebridge.
One Blackcap was singing at Ballycar, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Saturday 9th June 2007
The Osprey has returned to Lahinch Marsh (Dave McNamara).
One male Hen Harrier was sen near Lisseycasey.
There were six Little Stints at the Shannon Airport Lagoon this evening
along with 12 Dunlin, one Ringed Plover, one Redshank, one Black-
tailed Godwit, two Lapwing, two pairs of Teal, five drake Shoveler and two Water Rail.
One Blackcap was singing at the Lees Wood Road.

Osprey at Lahinch Marsh © Barry Howell

Friday 8th June 2007
A pair of Peregrines were found nesting near Lahinch and the nest is being
observed on a daily basis.
One Little Egret was seen near Iniscullen Hill in Shannon.

Thursday 7th June 2007
One male Blackcap was heard at Mount Callan.
One Blackcap was singing at Ballyallia Lake.
One Raven was at the Lees Wood Road in Ennis.

Wednesday 6th June 2007
One Blackcap was singing at Mooghaun, Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Tuesday 5th June 2007
One Jay and four Blackcaps were at Dromore Nature Reserve.

Monday 4th June 2007
One Jay and one Blackcap were at the Lees Wod Road. Ennis.
Two Blackcaps were heard at Mooghaun Wood.

Sunday 3rd June 2007
One Blackcap was singing at Fenloe Lake.

Saturday 2nd June 2007
A pair of Tree Sparrows were seen near Lough Donnell. 

Friday 1st June 2007

There were four Tree Sparrows at Liscannor.
One male Blackcap was singing near Fenloe Lake, Newemarket-on-Fergus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Tweets

clarebirdwatch

Image Gallery

beanglmuchjm beangooselmuchjm americangoldenplovermoyastajm calacu_adult_260811_shannon

Latest Comments

Follow us on Twitter

  • No tweets were found.