Category Archives: Limerick Sightings

Sunday 6th August 2017

260 Redshank, a Greenshank, twelve Curlew and four Little Egrets were at Askeaton harbour.
34 Redshank, five Greenshank, seven Curlew, four Oystercatchers and ten Mallard were at Beagh Castle.
18 Curlew, seven Oystercatchers, eight Mallard, two Little Egrets and Grey Heron were at Ballysteen.


Saturday 29th July 2017

A report of a Nightjar churring at the southern end of Gooig Bog on a few evenings in mid July was received today(per Fergus Flood). Nightjars bred in small numbers in the County up to the 1960’s however there have been very few records since.


Tuesday 25th July 2017

A Garganey, 14 Gadwall, 16 Tufted Duck, 180 Coot, 23 Moorhens, six Great-crested Grebes and 43 Little Grebes were at Coonagh (TT)


Sunday 16th July 2017

A juvenile Long-eared Owl was calling at the Castletroy Golf Club in Monaleen tonight (TT).


Saturday 24th June 2017

A Whimbrel, a Pochard, seven Tufted Duck and three Great-crested Grebes were at Coonagh (TT).


Saturday 10th June 2017

A female Hen Harrier was seen near Glenroe (Adrian Insley).


Tuesday 6th June 2017

A Buzzard was seen near the M7 at Lisnagry this evening (TT).


Monday 5th June 2017

An adult Red Grouse with one chick was seen on the Limerick side of the Ballyhoura Mountains.(Joan Neill)


Thursday 18th May 2017

A Long-billed Dowitcher was found at Ringmoylan today in the company of a small flock of Black-tailed Godwits (Paul Troake). This is the first record of the species for Limerick.


Tuesday 16th May 2017

A dead Barn Owl was found at the coursing field in Abbeyfeale today (Andrew Faughnan).
A Buzzard was seen at Glenwilliam (Andrew Holmes).


Page 1 of 8412345102030...Last »

Upcoming Events

  1. Saturday 26th August-Seawatching at Bridges of Ross

    August 26 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm

Latest Tweets

clarebirdwatch

Image Gallery

beanglmuchjm beangooselmuchjm americangoldenplovermoyastajm calacu_adult_260811_shannon

Latest Comments

Follow us on Twitter

  • No tweets were found.